ASMP — American Society of Media Photographers

ASMP’s Kelly Receives IPC Photographer Leadership Award

By May 5, 2011August 30th, 2016Press Release

Eugene H. Mopsik, Executive Director
American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP)
Phone: 215 451 2767

Philadelphia, PA… The American Society of Media Photographers (ASMP) has announced that Past President Richard Dale Kelly, a Pittsburgh based photographer who creates environmental portraits with style, has received the 2011 International Photographic Council (IPC) Professional Photographer Leadership Award. He was selected by the association as the member who best represents the group’s criteria and ideals, and is one of six winners being recognized by professional photography organizations at the IPC’s 13th annual awards luncheon held at the United Nations on May 5th.

According to ASMP Executive Director Eugene Mopsik, “Richard is a thought leader in the industry and is passionate about educating and empowering those in the photographic community. He led the 2010 ASMP initiative Registration ©ounts which, in the past year, has trained over 1500 visual artists how to register their works with the United States Copyright Office; and he was instrumental in bringing together industry leaders for the symposium, Copyright and the New Economy: Issues & Trends Facing Visual Artists, which was held last April.”

Richard is the president of Indigo Factory, Inc, a Multimedia Production Company producing photography, multimedia, strategic planning and project management for companies and non-profit institutions. He is also an adjunct instructor at Pittsburgh Filmmakers.

Richard’s body of photographs includes commissioned assignments and personal works, both satisfying his mission to capture real people in real places with real passions. Portfolios of his environmental portraits of artists, actors, and captains of industry and science have been published in numerous magazines including Fortune, PEOPLE, Adweekand USA Weekend. His photo essays have been published inParenting and PITTSBURGH magazines. Richard was Director of Photography at WQED Multimedia and PITTSBURGH Magazine from 2003-2007. In 2009, he received a Fellowship from the Pennsylvania Council on the Arts for his Artists and Scientists Photographic Project. His photographs have been exhibited at Concept Art Gallery, the Nikon House, the United Nations and Silver Eye Center for Photography.

The Leadership Awards are presented each May, which is International Professional Photographer Month, by the IPC, a non-governmental organization (NGO) of the United Nations dedicated to increasing worldwide recognition of photography as a universal means of communication through the adoption of the motto “Peace Through Understanding, Understanding Through Photography, the Universal Language.” Winners were selected by ASMP and five other professional photography organizations and include: Don Dormeyer, American Photographic Artists (APA); Martin Vrabko, Federation of European Photographers (FEP); Ron Nichols, Professional Photographers of America (PPA); Jamie Rose, White House News Photographers Association (WHNPA); and Doug Gordon, Wedding & Portrait Photographers International (WPPI). The new IPC Professional Photographer Lifetime Award will be awarded to Harold Strawbridge, Professional School Photographers Association (PSPA).

ASMP is the premier trade association for photographers from professionals to students, providing members with all the tools, information and support needed to run successful photography businesses. Over 7,000 strong with chapters throughout the country, ASMP leads the way on issues critical to the rights of imaging professionals. ASMP members are connected to the world’s foremost visual artists and recognized as part of a community of innovative, forward-thinking professionals.


Members Only

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.