ASMP — American Society of Media Photographers

This topic contains 4 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  David Eichler 8 months ago.

• Author

Bruce Devincentiis
    Participant

I am a hospitality photographer based in South East Asia and am currently negotiating a contract with a major hotel brand. One of the items I have requested with the estimate and factored into the pricing is the option to be able to use the resulting images in my printed and online portfolios.

One one side the hotel itself is stating that this is not an issue and I will be able to use images, yet they are requesting that a Copyright Agreement from their head office be signed.

Two points in the agreement are:

“As consideration for invoice no XXXX attached hereto, I hereby sell to XXXX all of my rights to the photographs identified on said invoice and protected by copyright pursuant to the provisions…..”

“I also acknowledge that XXX is the exclusive owner of the brands that I have been required to photograph. As a result, I warrant that I will not make any use in the future, for any reason whatsoever, of the images of said trademarks.”

To me, this sounds like I am transferring all my right to the images and I will not be allowed to use them in any way or form?

Am I correct in the way I am reading this? If this is the case then I would want my pricing to reflect that.

Thank in advance for any input.

Bruce

Phnom Penh, Cambodia

http://www.bdv.photography

Barry Schwartz
    Keymaster

Point 1 seems to suggest you will agree to transfer copyright, which, unless you’re being really well compensated, may mean you’re leaving money on the table.  However, the language is sloppy, which suggests the writer – possibly in-house counsel – does not really know their IP very well, at least vis-a-vis standard photo contracts.  (Or they know those contracts very well…).