ASMP — American Society of Media Photographers

BEST OF ASMP 2017 Contest Winner Announcement!

By November 13, 2017Best of 2017, Current News

Dear Members,

I’m delighted to announce the winners of the BEST of ASMP 2017 Photo Contest! This group of winners is a representation of the diversity of talent found in our membership. Stay tuned for special profiles of our winners in the coming weeks. Special thanks to our judges, Bob Sacha, Elizabeth Krist, and Ilene Richardson for taking on this tough task.

We were gratified by the number of entries we received for this year’s contest – the highest number of this particular contest to date! We look forward to your continued participation in our 2018 contests: ASMP Tastes, ASMP Spaces, ASMP Faces and Best of ASMP 2018!

Congratulations all!

Tom Kennedy
Executive Director
American Society of Media Photographers


Winners – Commercial

Honorable Mention: “Oil Train Dawn” by Laszlo Bencze; “Pawtucket River Bridge at Dusk” by Carl Vernlund

Winners – Magazine / Editorial

Honorable Mention: “Stars Over Rail Bridge” by Tod Grubbs; “Honey Hole” by Mark Lipczynski; “Fleet Week NYC” by Erica Price; “Up on the Crowd” by AJ Mast; “The Fan Who Dressed Like the Seats” by AJ Mast; “Irvington, New Jersey” by Peter Murphy; “Rain” by Kaveh Sardari

Winners – Self Promotion / Personal

Honorable Mention: “Refraction” by Jeffrey Apolan; “Morning on the Ranch” by Tracy Boulian and David Ahntholz; “Stacks” by George Craig; “Philip Glass” by Ahron H. Foster; “Underground Parking Garage Entrance” by Rocky Kneten; “Mom and Mike” by Janice Milhem; “Havana Downpour” by Gail Mooney-Kelly; “Surfer Point 4th of July” by Kim Newton; “The Waiter” by Joseph Squillante; “Steps” by Donna Strathy; “Goblin Forest” by Peter Wnek; “Primordial” by Peter Wnek; “Woman in Car” by Anthony Wood

Winners – Series

Honorable Mention: “Street Dance” by Elliott Kaufman; “Exposed” by Carey Kirkella

Contest Sponsors

Special thanks to these sponsors for donating prizes to the winners’ Swag Bags:

Join the discussion 2 Comments

  • TomMJohnson says:

    Thanks but the 2nd place winner of the series is not Tom Johnson. I am Tom M Johnson. Please make that correction.

  • says:

    Thank you ASMP and BEST OF judges for the Honorable Mention in the Self Promotion/Personal category. Grateful to mentioned alongside such great work and artists. Could you please let me know which image/s was/were chosen? I would like to post about it and want to use the appropriate image/s. Also, I too use my middle initial for my branding. Could you please credit Ahron R. Foster? Thank you.

Leave a Reply